Results of the 2017 NAfME Elections

Members of the National Association for Music Education: We are pleased to announce the officers you have elected.

Following are the 2018-20 Eastern Division President-Elect; Southwestern Division President-Elect; and Northwest Division President-Elect.



Keith Hodgson

Keith Hodgson elected as incoming Eastern Division President-Elect.

Keith W. Hodgson is an Assistant Professor of Music Education at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia, PA. He teaches graduate & undergraduate conducting, percussion methods, oversees the music education minor program and observes student teachers in their field placements. Mr. Hodgson is a Past-President of the New Jersey Music Educators Association, a National Board Certified Teacher, the recipient of the 2014 New Jersey Governor’s Award in the Arts for Leadership in Music and was a Grammy Nominated Music Educator Quarter Finalist in 2014. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Music Education from William Patterson University, NJ and his Masters Degree in School Leadership and Administration from Rowan University, NJ with Supervisor and Principal Certifications. Mr. Hodgson has spent the past 26 years of his career as a high school band director in New Jersey where he built a very successful three-tiered concert band program, competitive marching and jazz bands, conducted the musical theater, taught AP Music Theory and Guitar classes and was advisor to a very active TRI-M Music Honor Society Chapter.

“Among the issues nationally that continue to be challenging are students having equal access to opportunities, funding, equipment and quality instruction. In addition to the financial and political situations involved, I see effective teacher evaluation, implementation of the NCASS Arts Standards locally and new teacher preparation to be vitally important.”

“The Eastern Division as an organization should continue to focus on providing local music educators, as an extension to the Eastern Division State Conferences… meaningful professional development, high quality musical performances and collegial support.”

Read more from Mr. Hodson here.

Mike Quilling

Mike Quilling elected as incoming Southwestern Division President-Elect.

Mike Quilling has been a music educator in western Kansas for thirty-four years. While his main area of expertise has been instrumental music, he has taught vocal music, guitar, and mariachi. Mike recently retired from teaching and is currently working as a School Service Specialist for Senseney Music. He is a native of Colorado and received his Bachelors of Music from West Texas State University with post-graduate work from the University of Kansas and Wichita State University.

Mike is a Past President of the Kansas Music Educators Association (KMEA) and is currently serving as the KMEA Government Relations Chair. He has spearheaded several music advocacy events in Kansas including the annual Music Day at the Capitol, when KMEA leaders visit with decision-makers in the Legislature and Department of Education about the importance of music. Mike was appointed by the Kansas Senate President to serve as a Commissioner on the Kansas Creative Arts Industry Commission (formerly the Kansas Arts Commission) and served as a founding board member on the Kansas Arts Alliance in Education. He was recently asked to serve as a member of the NAfME IN-Ovations Council, promoting the inclusion of emerging ensembles and digital music in our schools.  Mike was honored to be selected by his colleagues as the 2014 KMEA SW District Teacher of the Year and 2015 KMEA State Teacher of the Year. 

“The conventional thinking ‘if you build it they will come’, is proving to be a less effective way of maintaining student enrollment, even in long-established music programs.  In recent years, I began teaching emerging ensemble classes in the small rural schools as a way to increase student participation in the traditional ensembles.”

“As the new ESSA federal guidelines and regulations are codified, we need to refocus towards the implementation of ESSA at the state and local level.  NAfME is uniquely qualified to provide State MEA’s the resources and training needed as they discuss the role of music in the ESSA with their state legislators and education leaders.”

Read more from Mr. Qulling here.

Scott Barnes (002)

Scott Barnes elected as incoming Northwest Division President-Elect.

Scott Barnes is the Manager for Visual and Performing Arts in the Edmonds School District, just north of Seattle, Washington. Previously, he taught high school band for seventeen years in both Oregon and Washington, and was the Associate Principal at the Vancouver School of Arts and Academics.  He was also the Associate Conductor of the Shoreline Community College band for seven years.  Scott holds a BMUS from Western Washington University and a MMUS from the University of Oregon, with majors in Music Education and Horn Performance.  He also holds his Administrative Certificate from Washington State University.  Scott is currently the Immediate Past-President of the Washington Music Educators Association and has served on the WMEA Board for the past nine years as President, President-Elect, Vice President and Administrative Curriculum officer. He has also served as regional President, Treasurer and curriculum officer for SKMEA and LCRMEA in Washington State.  Under his leadership, the Edmonds School District has been recognized by the NAMM Foundation ten times as a “Best Community for Music Education.” 

“Music education has always had to advocate for its place as a valued part of a well-rounded education for all students, and this continues to be our biggest opportunity for growth.  While ESSA now lists music as a stand-alone subject in Federal legislation, this just opens the door for conversations at a local and state level about the value of music education. “

“NAfME needs to remain relevant and progressive in meeting the needs of a changing musical world and culture.  As the leading organization of music educators in the country, it is vital that NAfME embraces the rich diversity that makes up our membership, and the student musicians across our nation.”

Read more from Mr. Barnes here.

These newly elected officers will begin serving June 24, 2017.